Annual Prize Giving Ceremony | Aga Khan Academies

Annual Prize Giving Ceremony

21 September 2010

The 2010 academic year at the Aga Khan Academy, Mombasa started on a celebratory note with the annual prize giving ceremony. On September 3, 2010 faculty, staff, parents and students (past and present) attended the presentation of awards in the beautifully decorated Multi Purpose Hall. The new Head of Academy, Mr. Rob Burrough, gave his opening address to the students and parents, and shared his vision of The Academy in the coming years. He continued by highlighting the purpose of the assembly and the achievements of the students from the previous 2009-2010 academic year. His speech emphasized the importance of looking forward and aspiring to succeed against challenges, and to appreciate and recognize those successes attained.

The announcement of the House Spirit award set the tone for the rest of the ceremony. Students were roaring with cheer in support of their House and classmates as different awards were presented. Along with receiving certificates and plaques based on their academic merit, the students also received recognition on their achievements in House spirit, athletics, community service and citizenship. 


The 2009-2010 award recipients are as follows:

  • Overall House Award: Blue House
  • First Honours: Neha Gudka (Yr10), Meekaeel Kurji (Yr11), and Aleesha Suleman (Yr11)
  • Outstanding Athletic Achievement Award- Male: Shivrajsingh Vaghela (Yr7)
  • Outstanding Athletic Achievement Award- Female: Rachita Shah (DP2)
  • Community Service Award: Karishma Bhagani (Yr7) and Eliza Alarakhia (DP1)
  • Citizenship Award: Kelvin Nduma (Yr7), Karen Chalamila (Yr8), Farhana Jiwa (Yr9), Imaan Yasin (Yr10), Aleesha Suleman (Yr11), and Ruhee Mitha (DP1)
  • IGCSE Award: Meekaeel Kurji (Yr11)
  • Diploma Programme Medal of Honour: Shiv Morjaria (DP2), Sarrah Sheikh (DP2), and Hafsa Parpia (DP2)
  • The Aga Khan Academy Award of Excellence: Aly Mitha (DP2) and Sarrah Sheikh (DP2)


In conjunction with the prize giving, the audience was pleasantly entertained by vocal and instrumental musical interludes performed by Senior School students headed by Mr. Philip Mbinji and Mr. Otieno Onyango. Senior School Principal, Mr. Simon Otieno, presented the closing address. He thanked faculty, parents and students for their unconditional commitment and involvement in ensuring an outstanding education for the students at the Academy. Although not all students were recognized during the awards ceremony, it served as an opportunity to empower them to excel beyond expectations in the future.