The Aga Khan Academy, Mombasa Wins 2011 Cricket Tournament | Aga Khan Academies

The Aga Khan Academy, Mombasa Wins 2011 Cricket Tournament

21 November 2011

On Saturday, 5 November 2011, the Aga Khan Academy hosted teams from other international schools in Mombasa for the AKA,M Under 11 Boys’ Cricket Tournament. The Academy team won the tournament for the third consecutive year.

The team was made up of the following players: Jairaj Punjaria (Captain), Nirani Hirani, Shahil Shah, Karan Khagaram, Azim Meghji, Isaac Ongati, Telvin Kameta, Jameel Khan, Hamad Afzaal, Njaju Njuguna, Yavan Bhatia and Gurjog Singh.

AKA,M began the tournament in Pool A with Shree Swaminarayan Academy and Sand Piper International School. Pool B was made up of Jaffery Academy, Braeburn M.I.S. and Oshwal Academy. The matches were seven-a-side and of six overs. 

After the group matches, the Aga Khan Academy team emerged as the winner in Pool A, with Shree Swaminarayan second and Sand Piper third. In Pool B, Oshwal Academy claimed first place, Braeburn came in second and Jaffery was third.

In the semi-finals, AKA,M defeated Braeburn by 50 runs to 37, and Oshwal won against Shree Swaminarayan, setting the stage for a tough final match between the Aga Khan Academy and Oshwal. In the battle for third place, Braeburn claimed the win against Shree, and Jaffery won the fifth place match against Sand Piper.

In the finals match, Oshwal batted first and set a target of 53 runs. The Aga Khan Academy team reached the target and emerged victorious with 56 runs.